Nicaragua Rejects Presence of OAS’ Working Group in the Country

Share this article

The Nicaraguan government announced that the Working Group of the Organization of American States (OAS) is “not welcome” in their territory.

“They are not welcome in our country, and for this reason they will not be received in our Nation’s soil”, stated the release read by chancellor Denis Moncada during a government’s act.

The Working Group, formed by representatives of 12 countries, among them Costa Rica, and led by Canada and Chile has the goal of searching for a peaceful and sustainable solution to the situation in Nicaragua.

The government, however, considered this Working Group as a “meddling commission”, that attempts against the “sovereign security” and their “national dignity” they also demanded “respect” of the government’s decisions.

Ortega’s Government considers that this commission was created by the United States from the OAS with “the purpose of continuing to intervene in internal matters of Nicaragua”.

The Working Group was created by the Permanent Council of the OAS by a resolution supported by 20 votes in favor, and is made up by representatives of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guyana, Mexico, Panama, Peru and United States.

According to human rights organizations the number of deaths since the crisis began in April has reached more than 350 and the number of injured is of well over 2000, along with many more detained, disappeared and displaced.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Popular Content